Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC)


2016-2018 members


Ian 2

Professor Ian Harris AM (Chair)

Orthopaedic Surgeon, University of NSW (NSW)

Professor Ian Harris is Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery at UNSW. He maintains a clinical orthopaedic practice and directs a research unit based at Liverpool, in Sydney’s south west. His research activities include registries, clinical trials, systematic reviews and methodological studies in the fields of surgical outcomes, trauma (fractures), joint replacement surgery and rehabilitation after surgery. His aims are to improve the evidence base for orthopaedic surgery and to better align clinical practice with that evidence base.



Dr Dawn Aitken

Research Fellow, Menzies Institute for Medical Research


Dr Dawn Aitken is a Senior Research Fellow at the Menzies Institute for Medical Research, University of Tasmania. She is supported by a National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)/Medical Research Future Fund (MRFF) Career Development Fellowship. Dr Aitken’s research uses advanced MRI technology to identify and test new treatments for osteoarthritis and back pain. She has experience in clinical drug trials and has completed or is currently conducting a total of 12 randomised controlled trials (RCTs) including three multi-centre trials for knee osteoarthritis, one RCT for back pain, and three industry-funded trials. Dr Aitken also has an interest in the relationship between physical activity and osteoarthritis and how to improve the conservative management of osteoarthritis.



Professor Catherine Hill

Clinical Rheumatologist, University of Adelaide (SA)

Professor Catherine Hill is a clinical rheumatologist and epidemiologist with clinical training in Adelaide and postgraduate training at Boston University with Prof David Felson.  She works as a clinical rheumatologist at The Queen Elizabeth and Royal Adelaide Hospitals and Clinical Professor at University of Adelaide. Her research expertise includes intervention studies in osteoarthritis, population-based musculoskeletal epidemiology, giant cell arteritis and polymyalgia rheumatica.  She is a Chief Investigator of North West Adelaide Health Study; a longitudinal population-based cohort study.

She has previously led a multicentre NHMRC funded project grant to study the effects of fish oil supplementation on symptoms and structural progression over two years in knee osteoarthritis in a multicentre RCT and subsequent collaborations have resulted in three current NHMRC-funded multicentre osteoarthritis trials. She currently co-chairs a working group and Special Interest Group as part of   OMERACT (Outcome Measures in Rheumatology), an independent initiative of international health professionals interested in outcome measures in rheumatology. At the 2015 meeting, she co-chaired a SIG on remission in RA and will be involved at the next OMERACT in the areas of PMR and corticosteroid adverse events. She participates in drug regulatory work and is a current member of the Drug Utilization Subcommittee (DUSC) of PBAC and Chair of the South Australian Medicines Evaluation Panel.




Associate Professor Steven Kamper

Physiotherapist, University of Sydney, NSW

Steven Kamper trained as physiotherapist at the University of Sydney and worked treating patients in musculoskeletal practice before completing his PhD at the George Institute in 2011. He has appointments as Principal Research Fellow at the School of Public Health, University of Sydney, and Adjunct Scientist at the VU University, Amsterdam. Dr Kamper has over 100 articles published in peer-reviewed journals and presented his work on more than 50 occasions in 10 countries, his work is published in top ranking general medical (BMJMayo Clinic Proceedings, PLOS Med) and specialist journals (PainJournal of Physiotherapy). He is the co-founder of the International Collaboration of Early Career Researchers (, an initiative aimed at connecting and supporting junior researchers in the health care field, and research fellow of the Physiotherapy Database ( responsible for education and training. His primary research interest is in musculoskeletal pain in children, particularly with reference to in the interaction between musculoskeletal pain and broader health risk factors such as overweight, smoking, alcohol misuse and poor mental health. His experience includes in design, conduct and reporting of prognostic studies, RCTs, systematic reviews, clinimetric analyses and studies exploring the mechanisms of action.



Dr James McAuley (NSW)

Psychologist, Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA) and UNSW

Dr James McAuley is a psychologist, A/Prof at UNSW and Senior Research Scientist at NeuRA where he is a Director of the NeuRA Pain Research, Education and Management Program. He is chair of SPRiNG, the NSW network for pain PhD students/ECRs,  chair of the back pain group of STREAM Health, a CAG of SPHERE and a member of the scientific advisory group of ANZMUSC. His research interests include understanding the causes of acute and chronic low back pain.



Professor Lisa Stamp

Rheumatologist, University of Otago (NZ)

Professor Lisa Stamp is a Rheumatologist at the University of Otago, Christchurch and Christchurch Public Hospital. Lisa completed her rheumatology training in New Zealand and Adelaide and subsequently completed her PhD at the University of Adelaide in Australia. She is Director of the Canterbury Rheumatology Immunology Research Group. Her research interests include individualization of drug treatments in rheumatic conditions, including dosing of allopurinol and the role of oxypurinol concentrations in gout, use of methotrexate in rheumatoid arthritis and the role of intracellular methotrexate polyglutamates in disease activity and drug toxicity. She also has an interest in inflammatory pathways in rheumatoid arthritis in particular interleukin-17. Prof Stamp has been awarded an Early Career Research award and the Carl Smith Medal for research by the University of Otago. In 2016 she was awarded The Arthritis New Zealand National Researcher Award.


Dr Donna Urquhart 

Senior Research Fellow / Physiotherapist, Monash University (VIC)

Dr Donna Urquhart is a NHMRC Career Development Research Fellow/Senior Research Fellow in the Monash University Department of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine and a physiotherapist with over 16 years of clinical experience in the management of musculoskeletal conditions. Her primary research interest is in establishing innovative, effective treatment and prevention strategies for low back pain and she is currently involved in leading several NHMRC randomised controlled trials, conducting systematic reviews/meta-analyses, collaborating on large scale cohort studies and working with industry in this field.



Professor Bruce Walker AM

Chiropractor, Murdoch University (WA)

Professor Bruce F. Walker DC, MPH, DrPH, AM is Associate Dean of Research, School of Health Professions, Murdoch University, Western Australia. Publications include over 85 articles in peer-reviewed journals, 25 conference papers, 32 posters, H-Index 21, cited over 2500 times (source Scopus). Bruce is Editor-in-Chief of the journal Chiropractic & Manual Therapies and has extensive experience in Human Research Ethics. His main interest involves epidemiology and trials concerning back pain.



Professor Tania Winzenberg 

General Practitioner, University of Tasmania (TAS)

 Professor Tania Winzenberg is Professor of Chronic Disease Management at the University of Tasmania.  She is an academic general practitioner and epidemiologist.  As a member of the ANZMUSC Scientific Advisory Committee, she brings extensive experience in MSK clinical trials, and in clinical trials in the general practice setting, as well as a strong understanding of the primary health care system and general practice. Her research focuses on osteoporosis, osteoarthritis and chronic plantar heel pain as well as primary health care.