Medibank Bank Better Health Foundation PhD Scholarship applications are now open

The Australia & New Zealand Musculoskeletal (ANZMUSC) Clinical Trials Network in collaboration with Medibank Better Health Foundation (MBHF) is offering a PhD scholarship for a suitable candidate to conduct musculoskeletal research in the area of osteoarthritis or low back pain. The scholarship is sponsored by MBHF who are providing funds for the entire duration of the candidature. The candidate has the opportunity to work on one of the ANZMUSC projects and to be supervised by an ANZMUSC member.

Applications close May 3rd.

Clink here for more information and to apply

ANZMUSC Update Meeting Nov 2018

The ANZMUSC Update Meeting is scheduled to be held on 28 November 2018 from 6.00 pm till 8.00 pm.

Venue:  The George Institute for Global Health, Level 5, 1 King St, Newtown 2042.


Living Guidelines

Research Priority Setting

Progress Update on ANZMUSC

Dinner: After 8 pm at a local restaurant (venue tbc)

ANZMUSC Scientific and Operational Support Scheme

The ANZMUSC Scientific and operational Support Scheme provides

(i) support for research proposal development for a new trial


(ii) support for an existing ANZMUSC trial.

In both cases this is meant to provide brief time-limited support, typically less than one week of staff time. In the case of existing trials it is not meant to back-fill an existing trial budget.The services include project management, clinical operations, data management and statistics. These services will be provided by staff from the George Institute for Global Health which has a very strong track record in completing clinical trials to the highest standards.

A full list of the services is provided in the support request form.


PRECISE – 2018 Finalist for Trial of the Year and Excellence in Trial Statistics Award

ANZMUSC is proud to announce one of its trials, the PRECISE (Pregabalin in Addition to Usual care for Sciatica) Trial was awarded the 2018 Finalist for ‘Trial of the Year’ sponsored by the Australian Clinical Trials Alliance (ACTA). This award is in “recognition of  outstanding achievement in an investigator-initiated clinical trial”. PRECISE was also awarded finalist in ACTA STInG (Statistics in Trials Interest Group) Excellence in Trial Statistics Award.
The award was presented to A/Prof Christine Lin (Principal Research Fellow, Musculoskeletal Health Sydney, School of Public Health, The University of Sydney) and Prof Jane Latimer (Deputy Director, Musculoskeletal Health Sydney, School of Public Health, The University of Sydney) by the Hon. Greg Hunt MP, Federal Minister for Health at the Clinical Trials 2018 National Tribute & Awards Ceremony held at the Royal Melbourne Hospital on Wednesday 16th of May.

The PRECISE trial was the first trial to rigorously examine the efficacy and safety of pregabalin in sciatica, and provided unequivocal evidence against its use for this condition. The results ruled out any clinically worthwhile treatment benefits and showed that taking pregabalin is associated with an increased risk of adverse events compared to placebo in patients with moderate to severe sciatica. The results were published in the New England Journal of Medicine.

PRECISE was led by a team of investigators who are ANZMUSC members based at The University of Sydney and The George Institute for Global Health.

We congratulate the PRECISE study team on their success, and for being the first ANZMUSC trial to receive this award.

A/Prof Christine Lin (The University of Sydney), Hon Greg Hunt MP, Prof Jane Latimer (The University of Sydney)

2018 Annual Scientific Meeting Report

The 2018 ANZMUSC Annual Scientific Meeting held in Melbourne was attended by 75 participants representing 18 universities and research institutes, 14  professional associations, health insurance and consumer organisations, and 6 public hospitals.

Invited speakers included Prof John Zalcberg from ACTA, Prof Chris Reid from ANZACT, A/Prof Manuela Ferreira from the Kolling Institute, Ms. Anneliese Synnot from the Cochrane Consumers & Communication Review Group, Prof Lyn March from the University of Sydney, Mr Mick Gooda, Former Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner, Prof Rebecca Ivers from the University of New South Wales, Ms Julia Medew – Walkley Award-winning journalist and Dr Ivan Lin from the University of Western Australia.

The two-day Scientific meeting also included the ANZMUSC CRE launch by Hon Greg Hunt, Federal Minister for Health on the second day.

 A detailed report of the scientific meeting can be found here.